Willie Nelson is STILL Not in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame: Bet if he Makes it This Year

Written by:
Jordan Bach
Published on:

Willie Nelson will be a huge favorite to be inducted into this year's Rock and Roll Hall of Fame (2023) as nominees were announced on Wednesday.  They include the following:

Kate Bush

Sheryl Crow

Missy Elliott

Iron Maiden

Joy Division/New Order

Cyndi Lauper

George Michael

Willie Nelson

Rage Against the Machine


The Spinners

A Tribe Called Quest

The White Stripes

Warren Zevon

The list of country musicians in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame to date largely consists of country pioneers, Johnny Cash and Hank Williams among them.  The genre has mostly been overlooked in recent decades however.

Dolly Parton, who was selected for the Country Hall in 1999, was chosen as a 2022 Rock Hall inductee on May 4.

Nelson is set to turn 90 this year. 

Other names that might seem surprising they've still not been inducted: Joy Division/ New Order, Cyndi Lauper, George Michael and Warren Zevon, though one can argue these acts are all deserving of the honor.

Typically five to seven artists/groups join the esteemed club each year.

Eight of the nominees are on the ballot for the first time, including Sheryl Crow, Missy Elliott, Joy Division/New Order, Cyndi Lauper, George Michael, Willie Nelson, The White Stripes, and Warren Zevon. This is the first year of eligibility for Missy Elliott and The White Stripes.

“This remarkable list of nominees reflects the diverse artists and music that the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame honors and celebrates,” said John Sykes, Chairman of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation. “These artists have created their own sounds that have impacted generations and influenced countless others that have followed in their footsteps.”

Starting February 1, fans can also cast their votes and participate in the induction selection process.

Inductees will be announced in May with ceremonies taking place in the fall.

- Jordan Bach, Gambling911.com

Entertainment News