Fils Bets Voided By Some Books Following Ymer Striking Umpire

Written by:
Alistair Prescott
Published on:

A number of US regulated books voided bets on Arthur Fils at the Lyon Open after his opponent struck the umpire.  Fils was mostly listed around -120.


Mikael Ymer was disqualified after the incident.

BetMGM was among the books that voided winning moneyline bets on Fils.  Some customers of FanDuel report that book graded Fils as a win only to void the bet moments later.

In the 11th game, a return by Fils fell close to the line and was called in, resulting in Ymer disputed the call.

The chair umpire refused to get down from his chair to check the mark. 

The Swede was infuriated and unleashed his anger on the umpire's chair, striking it repeatedly with his racket.

Sportsbooks must be clear when it comes to language within their rules and gamblers should always refer to said rules.

For example, out of Costa Rica has the following rule when it comes to tennis matches:

If a tennis match is not completed because of a player retirement or disqualification, all set betting wagers will be considered void.

From DraftKings:

In the event a match is not completed because of a player retirement or disqualification, all bets will be void. Total Breaks of Serve in the Match- Predict how many times each player will lose their service game in the match. Bets will be void in the event the statutory number of sets is changed.

Futures odds were being updated.

Outright Odds - Women's Australian Open 2024

Rot     To Win Outright Australian Open Women 2024     Moneyline
2001     Iga Swiatek         +300
2002     Aryna Sabalenka         +500
2003     Elena Rybakina         +600
2004     Jessica Pegula         +1000
2005     Coco Gauff         +1200
2006     Ons Jabeur         +1400
2007     Caroline Garcia         +1400
2008     Simona Halep         +1400
2009     Veronika Kudermetova         +2000
2010     Maria Sakkari         +2200
2011     Belinda Bencic         +2200
2012     Liudmila Samsonova         +2200
2013     Beatriz Haddad Maia         +2800
2014     Paula Badosa         +2800
2015     Bianca Andreescu         +2800
2016     Danielle Collins         +3300
2017     Madison Keys         +3300
2018     Petra Kvitova         +3300
2019     Jelena Ostapenko         +3300
2020     Anett Kontaveit         +3300
2021     Leylah Fernandez         +3300
2022     Emma Raducanu         +3300
2023     Qinwen Zheng         +3300
2024     Victoria Azarenka         +3300
2025     Marta Kostyuk         +3300
2026     Daria Kasatkina         +4000
2027     Linda Fruhvirtova         +4000
2028     Amanda Anisimova         +4000
2029     Clara Tauson         +4000
2030     Ekaterina Alexandrova         +5000
2031     Garbine Muguruza         +5000
2032     Magda Linette         +5000
2033     Jule Niemeier         +6000
2034     Karolina Muchova         +6000
2035     Linda Noskova         +6000

- Alistair Prescott,

Video News News

The Memorial 2023 Betting Preview

There is a massive tournament this week as The Memorial (Jack’s tourney) gets underway Thursday at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Ohio.  Remember that bets can be placed in between rounds with updated payout odds.

Mage Payout Odds of Winning the Preakness Stakes Likely Between 5-2 and 4-1

Mage Payout Odds of Winning the Preakness Stakes Now -140

The odds were be based on whether early Kentucky Derby favorite Forte raced or not but Forte was ultimately scratched.   This represents the shortest price thus far of the Triple Crown as no horse, Mage included, hit the minus number. 

2023 Preakness Stakes Morning Odds

2023 Preakness Stakes Morning Odds

The 2023 Preakness Stakes morning odds saw very minuscule changes of around a quarter to a half a point.  Mage can now be gotten for a slightly better price of -125 compared to -140.